NOAA Establishes Eight Marine Protected Areas to Provide Safe Havens for Deep-Water Fish

News -
13 Jan 2009 - 18 Jan 2016
NOAA has established eight separate marine protected areas encompassing a total of 529 square nautical miles in south Atlantic federal waters to shield deep-water fish species and their habitats from fishing. All fishing for snappers, groupers, tilefishes, grunts, porgies, and sea basses is prohibited throughout the protected areas, which are located off the coast from North Carolina south to Florida.