Language:  GlossaryImagesHelp
Home: GEOGRAPHY: FAO Fishing Areas
Advanced Search | an expanded view of Topics and Knowledge in the Atlas
 Login for Members


Forgotten your Password?

Not a Member? Join Now

Navigate the Atlas:
 Topic Overview
FAO Fishing Areas Maintained by FAO-FI  
Text-only     Printer-friendly version             
For more information, please select one of the sub-regions available on the list of sub-topics along the left-side bar. Source: FAO, 2001
FAO Major Fishing Areas
For statistical purposes, 27 major fishing areas have been internationally established to date. These comprise
- eight major inland fishing areas covering the inland waters of the continents,
- nineteen major marine fishing areas covering the waters of the Atlantic, Indian, Pacific and Southern Oceans, with their adjacent seas.
The major fishing areas, inland and marine, are identified by their names and by two-digit codes.   See More...
976 Topics - 5970 Related Knowledge - 11609 Members - 47 Editors
freeMem:374,961,120 totMem:499,122,176 reqNum:8654 openSessions:0 generationTime:2016/02/14 11:01:12